Daily Prompt: Proud

In response to the Daily Post writing prompt on February 15, 2013.

Prompt:  When was the last time someone told you they were proud of you?

When I first read this prompt, I wanted to do something a little different, so I wrote a short piece of fiction to practice my dialogue writing.  I’m not thrilled about the results, but it’s a quick read and feedback is appreciated.

As it relates to me specifically, I’m blessed to have a very supportive family and have been told several times in the last couple of months that they are proud of me.  I suspect that has something to do with a December birthday and the reflective nature of the time period between Thanksgiving and the new year, but my family supports me in everything that I do.

____

Working Title:  Baby Steps

“I’ll have the black bean roll ups,” he says. “And can I have a garden salad before the meal comes?”

“Sure. Anything else,” asks the waitress.

“Nope, that’s it.”

“Okay, I’ll be right out with some bread.”

“How come you didn’t get a burger,” the women across from him asks.

“I’ve been reading this book, “ he says. “Did you know that people that work in slaughterhouses have more repetitive use injuries like carpal tunnel? The stress in those places is incredible. They start to abuse their families after a while – it’s scary.”

“So it’s not about the animals then, it’s about the people?”

“It’s about all of it,” he says. “The people, the animals, my health. I don’t know. I’ve been eating meat for over 40 years but I think it might be time to try something different.”

Our waitress walks up and returns the bill.

“Thanks. Have a great night,” she says with a smile. Turning to the table next to us, she holds out a pitcher of water asks if the couple wants a refill.

“You know, “ says my wife as we’re walking out the restaurant. “You might try not eating meat.”

“Huh? Where’s that coming from?”

“That couple sitting next to us. You can’t tell me that you didn’t hear their conversation.”

“Oh, yeah, that. I heard it.”

“So, why don’t you think about making that kind of lifestyle change?”

“I’m already trying something different.”

“What’s that?” she asks.

“I’m only having one dessert a night,” he says with a smile as he slides into the driver’s seat.

“I’m so proud of you,” she says, pulling the passenger door shut.

Leave a Reply

