Men talking and learning from each other

Daily Prompt: Mentor Me

In response to the Daily Post writing prompt on February 17, 2013.

Prompt: Have you ever had a mentor? What was the greatest lesson you learned from him or her?

I’ve had many teachers throughout my life, though I’m not sure that I’ve ever had that one person in my life that I would label a mentor.  Each teacher has varying degrees of influence, and each in a different way.  At times I’ve learned how to do things, and other times I’ve learned what not to do.

We have an opportunity to learn from every experience. Experiences will vary in impact, but all that we encounter is an opportunity to learn. In a previous post, I mentioned that our dog, Franklin, taught me a lesson about love. And as I consider how it is that I approach learning, I realize that there are many experiences that influence my current approach.  Some of these include:

  • Talking with a friend(s) about an experience
  • Watching an adult interact with a child in a public setting
  • Receiving feedback at work or school about a task that I’ve completed, like a presentation

One of the most exciting aspects of life is that we will evolve as we interact and share new experiences. Two day, two months, or two years from now I likely will modify my learning approach based upon the evolution of my life.

If you’re like me and don’t have one person that is your default teacher, that’s okay.  My guess is that you have an entire team of teachers in your life.

What are some examples of how you learn from others?

photo credit: [phil h] via photopin cc

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Mentor Me

  1. Pingback: Mentors: The Freshmaker – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Mentor Me – What I’ve Learned From Famous Mentors in Life | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

