Hands with index fingers touching

Daily Prompt: Far From Normal

In response to the Daily Post writing prompt on February 18, 2013.

Prompt:  Many of us think of our lives as boringly normal, while others live the high life.  Take a step  back, and take a look at your life as an outsider might.  Now, tell us at least six unique, exciting, or just plain odd things about yourself.

We’re all unique, which I suppose makes me unique.  Many consider me a little boring, fewer consider me exciting.  Taking a step back, some things that help shape the story of me include:

  1. I love animals, especially dogs.  I like to talk to dogs.  I like to walk with dogs.  And I really like to play with dogs.  Many of the happiest moments of my life are shared with dogs.
  2. I’m curious.  There are few things in life in which I’m not interested.  Some might consider this a lack of discipline, and they might be correct.
  3. I like change.  I’ve had many jobs over the years, perhaps as a result of my curiosity and lack of discipline.  To stop changing is to stop living.
  4. I recognize the relationship between physical and mental health, and do my best to feed both.  I’m not always able to keep them balanced, especially when I’m injured or working too many hours, but I do my best.
  5. I fight fear.  Fear of failure mostly, but failure applies to many facets of life – work and relationships are the big ones for me.  Each day I strive to defeat fear.  Some days are better than others.
  6. As much as I like change, I don’t much care for travel. I’m a homebody at heart.

Everyone likely has a different definition of what constitutes the high life.  For me it’s a simple life in which I make a difference in the lives of others.  I don’t want fame, lot’s of money, or a big house.  I want to make a difference, and so I start each day with two goals:

  1. Treat others with kindness and respect.
  2. Learn something new and share it with someone.

If I can string enough days together in which I accomplish these goals, I can’t imagine a better way to live.

photo credit: Cpt via photopin cc

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Far From Normal

  1. Pingback: DROWN INSIDE ME « hastywords

Leave a Reply

