Image of the sign indicating that you are at the Badwater Basin

Never Say Never

In response to the Daily Post writing prompt on March 3, 2013.

Prompt: Is there a place in the world you would never want to visit? Where, and why not?

All places in the world are not created equally. There are places with extreme heat, like Death Valley, and there are places in the world with extreme cold, like the North Pole. Some are crowded, others have very few life forms. However, I cannot think of a place that I can say I would never want to visit.

Never is an absolute statement. For example, spending time in 120+ degree heat is something that I don’t think I want to do. But what if a friend decides to run the Badwater Ultramarathon and asks me to help? Though this isn’t very likely to occur, I’d consider it an honor to help a friend through this type of event and would look forward to being in this place.

If I approach the idea of going to a place from the perspective of never wanting to be there, then I’m limiting opportunities for the future. By establishing this mindset, I will limit the things I’ll do, either consciously or unconsciously. I’d rather keep my mind open to any possibility. In this way, the next minute, hour, day, week, month, year, or decade is full of all kinds of possibilities.

photo credit: jfew via photopin cc

3 thoughts on “Never Say Never

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | Learning, Running, and Writing

Leave a Reply

