A man working on a laptop while walking on a treadmill, with bookshelves in the background.

Physical fitness is not only one of the most important keys to a healthy body, it is the basis of dynamic and creative intellectual activity. ~John F. Kennedy

from Runner’s World Daily Kick in the Butt email

Okay, so I don’t think that Kennedy was advocating that we work while on the treadmill, but I do agree that there is a strong connection between mental health/strength and physical health/strength.

For me, the ability to clarify my thoughts through writing is enhanced when I’m physically active.  When I take time off from running I find that my mood elevator plummets, my confidence weakens, and my anxiety starts to climb.  Which is why it’s so important to ensure that we don’t make the mistakes that moveeatcreate reminds us of in a recent post.

What connections do you see between the body and mind?  How do you ensure that you stay balanced?

photo credit: massdistraction via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

