Women Running and Smiling

Excellence is an art won by training and habituation. We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an action but a habit. ~Aristotle

from within Runner’s World article by Amby Burfoot

Amby Burfoot has spent his lifetime running, and he shares his secrets in the article referenced above.  I encourage you to take a look – there are some great insights. One of the insights is that the physical act of running is easier than the mental act of running.  We have to believe in ourselves to keep going.

For me, this means that I am constantly training the voice inside my head to say what I want it to say.  It isn’t easy, but some techniques that I use include:

  • Reading daily quotes for inspiration
  • Writing myself reminders
  • Writing blog posts like this one – if I’m talking the talk, I outta be walking the walk

The voice in my head – and I suspect everyone’s – is very powerful in the creation of our story, and it’s up to us to make sure it’s telling the story you want it to tell.

Do you have any techniques or strategies for training your inner voice?  What story did your voice tell you today?

Leave a Reply

