A Word A Week Photo Challenge: Old

Daisy_20121130

Eleven years ago we got our first dog as a couple.  I still remember how excited, and scared, we were.  We named her Daisy Mae.

Gene Weingarten, in his and Michael S. Williamson’s wonderful book, Old Dogs: Are The Best Dogs, provides the following insight, leveraging an earlier reference to Kafka, on how we see ourselves in our dogs:

When we watch our dogs progress from puppyhood to old age, we are watching our own lives in microcosm.  Our dogs become old, frail, crotchety, and vulnerable, just as Grandma did, just as we surely will, come the day. When we grieve for them, we grieve for ourselves.

The meaning of life is that it ends.

Daisy’s become slower, can’t walk as far, and she can be a little crotchety.  When I think about her passing, I cry.  But when I come back to present and I see her lying next to my chair, or warming my side of the bed, I smile.  I think to myself how much I appreciate the gift of her life and how I cherish each moment, knowing that these moments aren’t unlimited.

Daisy is part beagle and part basset hound, and according to Wikipedia, a beagle has a life span of 12-15 years, and a basset hound 11-12 years.  If you add them up, I figure she’s going to live another 12-16 years!

Watching her grow old is one of the great pleasures of my life, and no matter how much longer she lives, she’ll be with us for the rest of our lives.

Responding to A Word A Week Photo Challenge: Old.

31 thoughts on “A Word A Week Photo Challenge: Old

    1. Chris Post author

      Thank you very much! I am really enjoying following you’re challenges, and I really appreciate the visits and reblog! Have a great day!

      Reply
    2. Linda Arthur Tejera

      What a sweet face! I know what you mean watching our pets grow old. It seems like they’re here such a short time and, in the big scheme, I suppose it is just a short time. But it’s so worth it!

      Reply
      1. Chris Post author

        Thank you, Linda! It’s not always easy, but it sure is worth it! That might hold true for the things in life that are most worthwhile. Thanks for the visit and comment – have a great day!

    1. Chris Post author

      Yeah – I know the math is a little creative, but you never know! Hope and passion can make a real difference. Have a great day!

      Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Thanks – she’s a pretty laid back girl, but when she see’s a rabbit, look out! Thank you very much for the visit and comment. I hope you have a great day!

      Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Thank you for the visit and comment. Staffords are wonderful dogs, and I completely agree that the pleasure stays with us through the pain and beyond. Have a great day!

      Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Thank you! She’s a special girl with a nose for finding the things that make her smile. Thanks for the comment and visit. I hope you have a great day!

      Reply
  1. chelsealeighbee

    That was truly beautiful! Thank you for posting! If you like books about dogs like I do, you will really like You had me at Woof. It’s a wonderful book and I am currently reading it 🙂

    Reply
  2. Office Diva

    Waaahhhhh! Thanks for making me bawl right out of the gate today!! I have two precious, precious dogs and every day I thank God for giving them to me, so I appreciate your post. I know they won’t live forever (they are 8 and 9), and I can’t even fathom how I will be without them when they are gone. Thank you for your post!

    Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Thank you for the visit and comment! I’m thrilled that the post connected with you, and hope that your dogs have long and healthy lives. And, I really do believe that those to whom we are close are with us forever in our hearts and minds, but that doesn’t make the loss of their physical presence less painful. Thanks again, and have a great day!

      Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Thank you very much for the comment and visit. She’s very sweet and well loved, and she gives just as much love as she receives. Thanks again – have a great day!

      Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Thank you very much! To be honest, I had a tear or two in my eyes as I was writing this one… 🙂

      I really appreciate the visit and comment, and am happy to hear that this post resonated with you. I hope that you have a great day!

      Reply
  3. Eleenie

    She is so beautiful! Nothing quite tugs at the heart strings like a pet can. We’ve loved and lost a few dogs over the years, yet each one still holds a special place in our heart, they are truly wonderful creatures and great friends. It’s lovely to see animals so loved, Daisy Mae looks like one very happy lady 🙂

    Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Thank you! Pets do find a way to attach to our hearts and bring a tremendous amount of joy to our lives. I can’t imagine life without dogs and cats. I really appreciate the visit and comment. Have a great day!

      Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Thank you very much for stopping by and for sharing! Lucy sounds like a wonderful friend to have. Her picture on your Snow Puppy post is wonderful. We’re lucky to have such friends in our lives. I hope that you have a great day!

      Reply
  4. Ray's Mom

    Pets, like children are part of the family and we do miss each of them. They do have a personality all their own. Daisy looks quite content.
    God bless

    Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Hi Will. Thank you very much for your words and kindness. I think that you have a wonderful blog and plan on visiting in the future.

      Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Thank you! Yes, we do indeed have much to learn from animals and the natural world.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

