We establish boundaries throughout our lives.  Sometimes these boundaries are physical boundaries, like the chain link fence that the daffodil below is working its way through:

Breaking Boundaries

Even more frequently we establish boundaries based upon our culture and conditioning.  We build assumptions that serve us well as we navigate the world, but also limit our perspective and the opportunities that we allow ourselves to experience.

This week I will focus attention on understanding what boundaries and assumptions I approach my day with and work to eliminate as many as possible.  The goal?  To be open to the world as it is.

Will you join me?  If so, I’d love to hear about what you discover.

Have a great week everyone!

12 thoughts on “Breaking Boundaries

  1. Waywardspirit

    IN one sense Chris, the boundaries we must break are the ones which last year we fought for and they protected us, like eggshells.
    Oh and I lost my train of thought for answering your previous amazing question. It Provoked me to such a degree that I felt it was clear what to answer. But it is not clear to me in words. Only to my feelings, which don’t always share or have words or platforms yet. : /
    I guess I’m immature like that. Now rather lost…
    Yet I still smile when I remember reading it!

    Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Hi Jessica. Yes, I agree, the boundaries evolve and shift. Life is so very exciting and it’s the change and shifting that makes it so. Boundaries are fixed and can’t survive forever in this system, especially when the “collective we” recognizes them. You fight for X and I fight for Y, I want Z to go away, you’re trying to tear down the next, and tomorrow it could be different.

      Why do you think we fight to create and eliminate boundaries? My suspicion is that it helps us make sense of the world, but I’m not certain that’s the reason, and if it’s the case, it’s likely one of many… And do boundaries really help us understand, or do they make the process of understanding more difficult, as Thomas indicates in another comment? It seems to me that they do make it more difficult for us to develop a common understanding, but perhaps easier for an isolated understanding? I need to think about this some more…interesting conversation for certain.

      No worries about the other thread. I trust that when you’ve formulated your thoughts you’ll re-spark the conversation. These questions require more thought than most online forums typically allow. And often, we’re never able to say something exactly as we want it to be but we try to get as close as possible. Perhaps that’s why there are so many art forms.

      You’re not alone – if we’re being honest with ourselves we’re all searching to find our way and are a little (or a lot)lost. I’m happy to hear that I played a role in the creation of a smile or two – thanks for letting me know. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      I couldn’t agree more, Thomas. One thing I wonder about is whether or not learning something is itself a boundary? How does the accumulation of information and “knowledge” start to narrow our worlds? Thanks much for visiting and commenting!

      Reply
      1. Thomas Peace (author)

        Learning something via rote memory, via a fixed procedure is always rather mechanical, calculating, and (therefore) boundary oriented. I think that the accumulation of information is gathered largely by the framework of what one already knows (otherwise one wouldn’t recognize it), even though information is often “relatively new”; in that sense, such accumulation is often limiting… narrowing or further solidifying our world view. However, certain learned sequences may encourage us to look in different ways, in more open-minded ways, or in less restricted ways; that kind of accumulation may be extremely liberating and beneficial. That kind of “accumulation,” though, is not merely “accumulation.”
        Once a mind sees the true danger of merely existing in a mechanical, calculating, conditioned series of recognition/accumulation… then (if it is lucky) insight takes place wherein the accumulation is seen for what it is; then such accumulation is often not harmful. Real learning is not merely accumulative; it is something much more. What is deeply dynamic goes far beyond mere accumulation.
        In the light of true insight, the shadow of mere accumulation loses its intensity.

      2. Chris Post author

        Thank you, Thomas. I very much appreciate the time you’ve taken to share these thoughts.

        I like your differentiation between learning approaches. If I’m tracking correctly, it’s the recognition of the pattern that’s critical. Once I realize that I’m stuck in a rote pattern, I can start to approach life with more of an open mind. And, if I put in the effort I can gain further insight.

        So, it isn’t learning that necessarily narrows worlds, it’s a lack of awareness/open-mindedness that does the narrowing – being mired in the rote, mechanical approach (not unlike an industrial factory floor, which in America is what the educational system has prepared us to do for the last several decades) to life. Is that a fair reading?

        Thanks again.

  2. Thomas Peace (author)

    Yes, Chris; it’s critical for the mind to reflect on the instrument that it perceives with. In a huge way, the “observer” is “the observed.” We’ve been teaching about how to look in ways that may largely be limited… and therefore, not “large” at all. To merely teach about how to be successful on the industrial factory floor… is to set young minds on track for a mediocre, small, conforming, mechanical existence. Little wonder then about why so many may have financially sound careers — and even that is dissipating away — yet are clueless about the whole, indifferent, polluting, and self-centered. Real life demands much more dynamic action than what a little, bourgeois/dead, superficial education normally provides.

    Reply
    1. Chris Post author

      Thanks, Thomas. I appreciate your insight and that you’ve taken the time to provide such a thoughtful response. I am in general agreement, and it leads me to the question of what to do about these challenges. Perhaps thoughts for another post.

      Thanks again!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

